Top Travel Photos of 2016

I am beyond grateful for the amount of traveling that I was able to do in 2016. I wanted to share some highlights with you to inspire your 2017 adventures. So without further ado, here are my top travel photos of 2016:

image_12270

Location: Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland

Why this photo is a favorite: You can get to the Swiss Alps (Jungfrau region) via a train or cable car. As the train moves up the steep incline towards the Alps, the views get more and more incredible. As I happened to peak my head out the window I saw this brilliant waterfall just standing there, waiting to be photographed in all its glory! If you’re going to Switzerland (or even if you’re not) I highly recommend taking a trip to the Jungfrau region.

screen-shot-2016-10-09-at-5-48-57-pm

Location: London, England

Why this photo is a favorite: Honestly, this photo just screams all the things that you normally think of when you think of England: Big Ben, Parliament and a red bus. All that’s missing is one of those classic red phone booths!

1477836769845

Location: Grindelwald, Switzerland

Why this photo is a favorite: Remember that train to the Alps that I talked about a minute ago? Here it is! Once you come down from Jungfrau, you descend into Grindelwald. Grindelwald is a beautiful and charming. It’s one of those towns that you thought only existed in storybooks. Coming down into Grindelwald with this view makes you feel like you’re in a fairytale. The infamous mountain, Eiger, stands strong as the backdrop of Grindelwald. The North Face of Eiger has been known to test the fate of climbers and the brand The North Face is so aptly named after it.

1482040065090

Location: Corfu, Greece

Why this photo is a favorite: We rode ATVs to the second tallest peak on Corfu to get this view. If you’ve never ridden an ATV it can be a bit daunting, especially on the edge of a cliff. But once the wind is in your hair and the warm sun on your face, you’ll wish you had done it sooner!

20160620_164311.jpg

Location: Budapest, Hungary

Why this photo is a favorite: I’m a sucker for a sweeping view but this was the moment when I fell completely head over heels for Budapest. This photo was taken from the Fisherman’s Bastion and I feel that it so accurately describes the beauty and magic of the city. There are so many surprising delights in Budapest, they should not be missed.

2016-06-11 02.10.05 1-2.jpg

Location: Giza Pyramids, Cairo, Egypt

Why this photo is a favorite: I never thought I’d get to Egypt, honestly. It had always seemed like a far away dream. I have been obsessed with Ancient Egypt since I was a little girl watching King Tut documentaries with my father. It was such a surreal experience sitting on this camel (his name was Oscar) while a ten year old Egyptian boy took better photos of me than I ever could. I know that Egypt has become known for its political instability but please do not let that discourage you from going. I never felt unsafe in Egypt and my trip was worth every penny.

Leave a Reply

